Lauren Lockett has been working as a professional communicator in a variety of capacities for over 10 years. She holds a B.A. in English with a concentration in professional writing, a minor in Journalism, and an MBA in Management of Technology. She has professional experience as a writer, editor, project manager, and contracts manager. In addition to writing engaging car insurance content, Lau...

Full Bio →

Written by Lauren Lockett
Car Insurance Content Writer Lauren Lockett

Ayanna Julien is a managing editor. She is a writer, editor, researcher, and passionate consumer advocate who loves sharing tips and hacks to improve lives. She previously served as the content editor for an international media company, which published content about insurance, among other business and financial topics. She also has a Doctorate of Business Administration from Argosy University - Ch...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by AJ Julien
Insurance Expert AJ Julien

UPDATED: May 12, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance-related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Here's what you need to know...

  • Florida has crazy laws governing everything from where you park to what you eat
  • Some of the laws have a direct impact on how you drive
  • Protect yourself with the right insurance coverage so that you won’t have to worry about crazy laws

Florida is a vacation capital for people who love beaches, sunshine, and theme parks.

Florida has a thriving tourist industry, and it also has its own fair share of strange laws and bizarre happenings.

You’re never more than 60 miles from the ocean, even if you’re in the middle of the state, yet it’s illegal for anyone wearing a swimsuit to sing while in public.

Yes, that’s right. Sing while dressed in your bikini or board shorts and you could, technically, be charged with a crime.

If you’re looking to compare Florida auto insurance rates, start comparison shopping by entering your ZIP code above!

20 Weird Laws in Florida

Of course, no singing while in a swimsuit isn’t the only strange law.

Throughout the country, laws are put on the books for what seems like a valid reason at the time, and they’re never removed. A few generations go by, and you’re left with strange laws that are quirky, bothersome, and just plain funny.

Here are some of the finer ones that you’ll run into when visiting the Sunshine State.

#1 – Swamp Buggies Not Allowed

The term motor vehicle was revised to specifically exclude swamp buggies, so the primary mode of transportation in this state is not currently regulated.

However, this shouldn’t have any impact on the type of vehicle you would drive in when visiting from another state.

#2 – When Tying an Elephant to a Parking Meter, the Fees Must Still Be Paid

Florida takes its parking fees seriously. Before walking away from the meter, make sure that you feed it an appropriate amount.

It doesn’t matter if you’re parking the family minivan, a rented sports car, or your pet elephant.

#3 – Florida Still Has the Death Penalty for Horse Theft

Steal a car in Florida and you can face up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine.

However, horse theft could leave you facing a much steeper consequence.

Protect your car while visiting by investing in a quality theft deterrent system and comprehensive insurance coverage.

#4 – Men May Not Be Seen Wearing Strapless Gowns in Public

This may be some kind of quirky spring break law, but it’s best to protect yourself.

Keep a jacket on over the gown, and leave the top up on the convertible.

#5 – It Is Illegal to Skateboard without a License

Your driver’s license won’t quite make the cut if you’re on a skating board. Just stay behind the wheel of your car and avoid the hassle.

#6 – Only Renters May Park on the Street in Front of a Home in Cape Coral

Owners have to park in the driveway, so keep this in mind if you’re visiting Cape Coral and renting a house.

Be sure to park in the right spot to avoid complaints and tickets.

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

#7 – Public Flatulence Is Banned After 6 p.m.

You can pass gas in your car, but you should refrain from farting in public spaces.

#8 – It Is Illegal to Drive Over Graves in a Cemetery

If you’re interested in going four wheeling while visiting, there are plenty of other options to consider.

#9 – It Is Illegal to Amble and Stroll in Hialeah

Fortunately, driving is still okay, but you’ll have to see the sights from the comfort of your car.

#10 – In Pensacola, It Is Illegal to Roll a Wheelbarrow through the Streets

You can be fined for public wheelbarrow use, and the amount charged will depend on what’s in the wheelbarrow.

The good news is that you can still transport items in the trunk of your family car.

#11 – The Fine for Striking a Pedestrian in Sarasota is $78

While the city may have a low fine, you can bet that the lawsuit following would be a bit more costly.

Protect yourself by keeping the car on the road and watching for people crossing the street.

Protect your assets by making sure that you have a good amount of liability coverage.

#12 – Do Not Bring Pigs to Miami Beach

It would appear to be perfectly acceptable to still bring your dog, cat, goat, or horse.

Check the cargo limits of your vehicle before deciding which farm animal you’ll take swimming with you.

#13 – Palm Bay Has Banned Bicycles from Towing Sleds

You can, however, still tow other items behind your regular car.

Unfortunately, you still may not have passengers riding in your fifth wheel, travel trailer, or utility trailer.

#14 – Leave the Crabs Alone in Sarasota

You cannot catch your own crab dinner in Sarasota because it’s illegal.

You’ll have to drive to the grocery store or your favorite restaurant to enjoy some crab legs.

#15 – Carport Couches Carry a $50 Fine in Cape Coral City

If you want something to sit on outside, a patio set is a better choice.

You can also put the top down on the convertible to see the night sky and take in the view.

#16 – Women Who Fall Asleep Under the Hair Dryer Can Be Fined

The salon owner can also be fined for this offense, so make sure you take your nap ahead of time.

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

#17 – In Miami Beach, It Is Forbidden to Sell Oranges on the Street

Florida also takes its oranges seriously. Get a stand, drive to it, and sell from your stand like every other good farmer in the state.

#18 – There Is No Eating Cottage Cheese After 6 p.m. on Sundays in Tampa

Save it for lunch on Monday, and leave it out of your Sunday lasagna, just in case.

#19 – People on the Street in Pensacola Must Have At Least $10 in Their Pocket

If you shop around to save on car insurance, then you can save money and easily cover the $10 rule.

#20 – Unmarried Women May Not Parachute on Sundays

Married women are more than welcome to head up into the sky and float down with a parachute, but married women will have to wait until Monday to do some parachuting.

Otherwise, they can face arrest, fines, and even jail time.

Luckily, unmarried women are still allowed to drive on Sundays in the state.

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Florida Laws Regarding Insurance

Florida is a no-fault state, so you’re required to carry personal injury protection insurance.

This coverage will pay up to:

  • 80 percent of reasonable medical expenses incurred as the result of an accident
  • 60 percent of lost wages as the result of an accident
  • $5,000 in death benefits

If you’ve been convicted of a DUI in the last three years, then you’ll also need to have bodily injury coverage.

Collision coverage is designed to get your car fixed in the event that you hit a light pole or fence, and comprehensive is there to take care of everything else, including theft and storm damage.

When traveling to Florida, talk to your insurance agent to be sure that you have the right coverages in place.

If you’re moving to Florida, then you’ll definitely want to notify your company and make the necessary adjustments to your plan.

Shopping Around for Coverage

There is no law in Florida saying that you must have coverage with one certain company, and you’re always allowed to shop around. Take advantage of that fact to look for better rates and start saving money.

Crazy laws can leave you shaking your head, but you won’t have to worry when you know that you’ve got the right coverage in place for your needs.

Before signing with any particular company, be sure to consider some other types of coverage that may benefit you.

In addition to the PIP and damage liability insurance, you may want to invest in:

  • Towing
  • Rental reimbursement
  • Glass breakage
  • Accidental death and dismemberment

When comparing different insurance plans, look at the available discounts to be sure that you’re getting the best rate. Ask about additional discounts you may qualify for, and confirm the coverage levels.

When you look at similar deals, you can make a more informed decision.

Start comparison shopping today by using our FREE online quote tool! Enter your ZIP code to get started!