FREE Car Insurance Comparison
Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!
FREE Car Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Drivers can save $859/yr* by comparing car insurance
*based on a survey of 1,000 car insurance customers
Florida Car Insurance
Looking for Florida car insurance rates? There are a variety of drivers in Florida and it is important to understand all aspects of Florida car insurance in order to get the best FL car insurance rates. Florida is one of the most beautiful and popular places to live; in fact, is the state with the most relocated resident in the United States. This is due not only to the retiree population, but also because of the appeal of the sunny weather and many water activities Florida provides. The following information on this car insurance coverage will help you find a policy that works for you.
Florida Car Insurance State Laws
Each state has laws regarding car insurance coverage and policy amounts that you must be carry to drive a vehicle registered there. Abiding by state laws will ensure that you are covered if you are the cause of, or victim in, a car accident. Driving without the appropriate coverage could result in fines, suspension of your driver’s license, legal fees, or even jail time. Having the coverage required by law is for your protection as well. If you are involved in an accident with someone who does not carry car insurance, you want to have a course of action.
Florida law requires that whether or not you have a driver’s license, you have car insurance on any car you own with Florida tags. If you want to legally cancel your coverage, you must turn your plates in to a DMV office. Florida is a no-fault state which means that when you are in an accident, your policy covers damage to your vehicle, and the other driver’s insurance covers damage to their vehicle, no matter who is at fault. No-fault laws also bar you from suing another driver for causing an accident.
Since Florida is a no-fault state, there are very specific laws regarding the type of coverage that must be purchased. By law, Florida drivers must carry $10,000 in bodily injury liability for one person and $20,000 for two or more people. For property damage, $10,000 per crash must be carried as well as $30,000 in combined single limits. Personal injury protection in the amount of $10,000 per person/crash must be carried.
Florida Car Insurance Options: Beyond the Minimums
Though meeting the minimum amounts of Florida car insurance coverage required by law is important, it may not be enough. For example, if you have a loan out on your vehicle through a dealership or bank, they may require you to have comprehensive coverage. This prevents them from losing money if your car is totaled before it is paid for in full. Check with your loan agent to see if this type of coverage is required. If it is required and you do not have it, you will be left making monthly payments on a totaled vehicle.
Also, if your car accident costs more than the coverage provided by your policy, you will have to pay out of pocket. Since you do not have the option to sue another driver that causes an accident, you must insure that your policy limits will protect your assets. Having some extra coverage will assist you greatly after a major accident, property damage or personal injury. Just raising your limits slightly will give you some wiggle room and avoid out of pocket expenses.
Another aspect to consider is your deductible. Having adequate coverage is vital, but having the money to meet your deductible is a necessity. You may be tempted to lower your monthly premium by raising your deductible. Just remember that when an accident occurs, you must come up with the deductible money in order to receive the claim from your insurance company. Sometimes paying just a little bit more a month is worth having a lower deductible at the time of an accident.
Florida Car Insurance Agents
When shopping for Florida car insurance, you should use a licensed FL car insurance agent. If an agent is not licensed, they are not following Florida law and you will have not protection.
All agents are required to register with the Florida Department of Insurance. The Department of Insurance then researches and reviews the company to make sure they meet certain financial and customer service standards. This way, customers know that they are dealing with a company that can be trusted.
You can look up any agent or company with the Department of Insurance and see if they are licensed. You can also look up their independently rated financial report card to see for yourself the financially stability of the company you are considering. Going with a licensed agent or company will give you a way to fight back if your claim is not approved or your policy agreements are not met by the company.
Compare Florida Car Insurance Quotes Online
If fact, shopping around with licensed agents or companies is the best way to find a great deal. You can use the comparison tool on this page right now to help you compare rates and quotes from top companies. These rates and quotes will show you what you will be getting for your money.
Remember, the cheapest Florida car insurance deal may not always be the best deal. Having customer service and easy to file claim service with a fast turn around can be just as important as price especially when you are in an accident.
Why not take a few moments to request quotes from some of the top FL car insurance companies offering car insurance rates at the top of the page? A few minutes spent doing your homework could end up saving you $1,000’s over the next year. Get started comparing Florida car insurance quotes today!